Floundering

Me? Blog about youth popular culture? The title and the pic give you some idea of my reaction (only I don’t feel as colourful as the flounder looks).

Image: Kevin Bryant https://flic.kr/p/4F7QSG
Image: Kevin Bryant. CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

(There’s an even more expressive flounder picture here. Go on it’s worth the look!)

In Hiding

Bothus_mancus
Image: Dr. Dwayne Meadows, NOAA/NMFS/OPR. Public domain

So in keeping with the floundering theme, I admit I’ve been hiding. My own children are grown up now; the youngest being 28. I’ve managed to distance myself from youth pop culture and until now, haven’t seen the need to get involved in it. It’s been my modus opeandi to arrive at pop culture late – after all the hype has died down.

But to acknowledge the interests and prior knowledge of the students with whom I work, to facilitate their learning in ways more relevant to them, I need to make a commitment to understanding the popular culture in which they are engaged. So the posts that follow will be my discoveries about the popular culture of primary-school aged students and it’s application to the school library setting in which I hope to work. And in the meantime, find out a little more about how to make best use of the pop culture enjoyed by my Year 3 students.

Image: Tom Simpson. Flounder - The Little Mermaid VHS box art (1989)https://flic.kr/p/rCBxpf
Image: Tom Simpson. CC BY-NC 2.0
Leave a Reply

